top of page

Four places in Queensland (2009)

Solo piano.  63:00.

Four places in Queensland explores four unique Queensland locations, taking as its inspiration the sounds of the natural environments of Mt. Nebo, Cunningham’s Gap, Girraween, and Condamine.  The piece alludes to the tradition of musical landscapes by composers such as Peter Sculthorpe or Charles Ives, whose Three Places in New England inspired the title.  It was composed for three amazing Queensland pianists:  Stephen Emmerson , Anna Grinberg, and Liam Viney.

"Erik Griswold's Cunningham's Gap for solo piano was a largely reflective meditation on the natural wonder west of Brisbane, featuring a sublime, extended passage for right hand only and an ending of profound beauty." - Martin Buzacott, The Australian, 1 June 2012

Premiered by Stephen Emmerson, Erik Griswold, and Liam Viney.
Queensland Conservatorium 5 June 2009

bottom of page